U.S. Unemployment; Speaker Boehner on the Unemployed; Speaker Boehner says the unemployed are lazy

Unemployment Problem: U. S. House Speaker’s “Lazy” Ideology

House Speaker John Boehner; Unemployment; Lazy; Society; Economy
U. S. Speaker of the House John Boehner Believes the Unemployed Are Lazy
Creative Commons Pixabay Photo Courtesy of tpsdave

By now, I am

sure you’re aware of the latest news regarding unemployment, most notably the news involving U. S. Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-OH).

Recently, Speaker Boehner met with the American Enterprise Institute, a think tank, for an economic talk. And, of course, the unemployment issue was discussed.

What was his view on unemployment according to a ThinkProgress article? Read below: 

“We’ve got a record number of Americans not working. We’ve got a record number of Americans…stuck, if you will. And I think it’s our obligation to help provide the tools for them to use to bring them into the mainstream of American society. I think this idea that’s been born out of the last-maybe out of the economy over the last couple of years that, you know, I really don’t have to work. I really don’t want to do this, I think I’d rather just ‘sit around.’ This is a very sick idea for our country.”

Side Tracking Moment : Chills. The room should have become cold after these words.

Back on Track: Do these comments effectively address the unemployment problem from an economic standpoint? Is there any data to support these comments?

Now, I’ve already discussed the lazy myth and incompetent myth regarding the unemployed in previous posts, so I won’t bore you with repetition in this post. This is merely a recap of Speaker Boehner’s remarks.

Let me sum up his ideology for you: We’re unable to secure gainful employment because we’re lazy and love to “sit around.” In other words, we don’t want to work.

This is so wrong.

To Speaker Boehner: I am aware of your background. I know you started from the bottom and worked your way up to where you are now in your career. I commend you.

Still, I have something to share: it’s not easy to land a job these days – more or less work your way up. Times changed.

The job market is tough. Honestly, job searching takes so much time and energy I’d rather be employed in some way.

Additionally, the long-term unemployed job search process is challenging and includes roadblocks.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, over 3 million people are long-term unemployed.

These comments don’t benefit the long-term unemployed at all. If anything, they can negatively affect us emotionally and mentally if allowed.

Why didn’t he discuss extending unemployment insurance to eligible persons? Why didn’t he discuss some type of on-the-job training program – providing skills and income?

People with the “lazy” belief should test the job market for an understanding of the job search process. You can follow the example of Boston Fed Economist Rand Ghayad who experimented by sending out applications and resumes for the employed and unemployed alike and learned about long-term unemployment hiring bias.

His remarks didn’t surprise me. I wasn’t outraged or insulted as I probably should’ve been.

I’m used to this kind of negativity as it is so common when it comes to the unemployed. Don’t get me wrong. It doesn’t make these types of comments right by any means.

For me though, I don’t focus on the insults of naysayers. By not focusing on insults, I can keep moving forward in the way I should throughout this time in my life.

From Me to You- My Fellow Unemployed: Don’t be affected by these comments. Keep your head up!

What’s your opinion on his comments? Please share below.

Disclaimer: A ThinkProgress article is linked to this post.

