feeling invisible and overlooked; unemployed and invisible; unemployed and overlooked by employers; invisible to people by visible to God; overlooked during hard times

When You Feel Invisible And Overlooked . . .

If you’ve ever felt invisible and overlooked because of your current circumstances, you certainly aren’t alone.

Upon viewing your situation, it seems like you’re the only one around you experiencing this type of difficulty. You feel forgotten sometimes.

Is this correct?

I think anybody experiencing some type of extended hardship situation can relate to these not so good feelings. And, I’ll admit I totally related to them at one point myself.

Feelings of Invisibility

Consider my example.

My invisibility has everything to do with career. I had what I’d say many green lights.

feeling invisible and overlooked; unemployed and invisible; unemployed and overlooked by employers; invisible to people by visible to God; overlooked during hard times
When You Feel Invisible And Overlooked . . .
Unsplash Original Photo Courtesy of Lee Scott. Edited by Me.

Then, out of nowhere, I came to what I’d call a red light. Post serving as an Elderly (Senior) Caregiver, I became unemployed (which quickly turned into long-term unemployed) and on the job search for paid work.

Unemployment rendered me invisible – the odd one out in a society where hard work and employment (i.e. a great career) deems you successful. Unemployment easily brings about outcast feelings when others in your age range – even younger – are further along in their careers than you are.

Now, I’ve admitted long-term unemployment is hard – and it’s harder when you’re “invisible” to those in the working world. As an unemployed, I seem to have been “passed over” for every job I interviewed for – despite my best efforts.

Not only had I been invisible to those in hiring positions but others as well. When people become aware of one’s unemployment situation, invisibility takes over because of stereotypes, myths, and assumptions.

People look down on you without considering your background or story. People talk down at you without considering your background or story. People consider you a nobody without considering your background or story.

Ask me how I know!

Talk about frustrating. Right?

Oh, but I had a reality check during my time of crisis.

What was the reality check?

We must see ourselves through the right set of eyes. We are all on unique, different life journeys and should embrace them regardless of who overlooks us here.

Side Tracking Moment : This resulted in a clear shift back to the right perspective on life and career for me. So, although I’ve gone unnoticed by people, I’ve always been noticed by the One of importance.

Back on Track: Now to you: Circumstances impact our lives in different ways. However, if you’ve felt this way, don’t allow these feelings to take over.

Don’t give in and believe something’s wrong with you. Not one thing is wrong with you. Whenever these feeling creep in, please remember this: you’re known, seen, and loved by God.

Be encouraged and push through by faith!

feeling invisible and overlooked; unemployed and invisible; unemployed and overlooked by employers; invisible to people by visible to God; overlooked during hard times
When You Feel Invisible And Overlooked . . .
Unsplash Photo Courtesy of Chris Sardegna.

Anybody Around You Like This? Is It You?

Many times, people experiencing troubling times already know what’s going on with them inwardly and outwardly and don’t need someone to fix their problems.

Instead, they need kind words from someone with a genuine concern.

If you know someone experiencing a hardship right now – loss of a job, loss of a loved one, long-term unemployment, sickness, etc. – I ask you to speak a word of encouragement to them today. You never know how your words will positively impact them!

If this someone is you, sometimes you have to encourage yourself. Don’t hesitate to speak a word of encouragement over yourself right now.

From Me to You: When trapped by feelings of invisibility and abandonment, please remember you’re special – always known and seen by your Creator. Keep your spirit up with overflowing joy and continue moving forward!

Have you felt invisible and overlooked at some point in your life? Feel free to share below.

9 thoughts on “When You Feel Invisible And Overlooked . . .

  1. Hi! Thank you for stopping by and reading.

    It is always great to meet others that are going through, have been through, and understand similar hardships in life.

    Great perspective. I agree with you. Sometimes, we become anxious and just want to do something to get past our circumstances when all we need to do is sit back and learn important lessons from God.

    I know that many things became clear for me upon doing this. Looking at things now, I see that I absolutely needed to be slowed down.

    Look forward to that beauty for those ashes. It’s coming. Just keep pushing!

    I appreciate your comment.

    Like

  2. Last year I felt overlooked by God. I dealt with unemployment so I know how you feel. But after my reality check God placed on my heart that whenever things are happening in life and we think our life is spinning out of control to just sit back and ask God what lesson does he want us to learn or what is he trying to show us? Everything happens for a reason! So I know there is purpose behind my pain and God will give me beauty for ashes!! Great post

    Like

Comments are closed.