Tiffany "The Budgetnista" Aliche Talks Unemployment

The Budgetnista Talks Unemployment And “The Shift After 2 Years of Struggle”

Yesterday, the Huffington Post shared one woman’s unemployment success story in an article entitled, How One Woman Went From Being Unemployed, to Becoming an Employer.

Tiffany “The Budgetnista” Aliche went through uncertainty before becoming the financial educator she is. In this article, she shared her struggle with sudden job loss – and the eventual experience of something new through entrepreneurship.

Before starting her business, The Budgetnista, Aliche lost her job of 10 years as a teacher. She went on to experience unemployment for 2 years.

“There I was 31 years old, with no job, no money, no home and no direction. This was my rock bottom. I felt so helpless, scared, financially unstable and unsure of what to do next.”

Tiffany "The Budgetnista" Aliche Talks Unemployment
The Budgetnista Talks Unemployment And “The Shift After 2 Years of Struggle.” Unsplash Original Photo Courtesy of Yaoqi Lai. Edited by Me.

She didn’t settle into the victim mentality, however. After 2 years of uncertainty, she “began to see the light at the end of the tunnel.”

Throughout her life, she learned many personal finance lessons from her father, an accountant. Using this knowledge, she began helping others with the basics of personal finance, such as budgeting and saving, while teaching.

She continued doing this throughout her search for a job.

“Then in 2011 I decided it was time to take what I learned from my father and my experiences and started my business, The Budgetnista,” Aliche said. “My aim was to help women just like me; women who wanted to do better, but didn’t know how or where to begin.”

In her role as a Personal Financial Educator, Aliche helps many women – far and near, online and offline. She understands this type of situation and has been helpful.

“I had been in their shoes before. Fear and uncertainty drained me of my creativity, and all I could think about was my money issues. I couldn’t focus and the stress had begin to affect my health. I think that the only people who think about money more than the rich, are the poor. That’s why I am so passionate about helping other women . . .”

I found this story inspirational. She used her personal finance knowledge and skills to help others for free. She provided value, and the money followed.

Her work has paid off too!

5 years since starting this venture, Aliche has gone from unemployed to entrepreneur. With the growth of her business, she’s now an employer as she made her first, full-time hire this year.

You can read more of The Budgetnista’s inspiring story at:

Tiffany Aliche, How One Woman Went From Unemployed, To Becoming An Employer │ Huffington Post Black Voices

